Poet And Literary Scholar Dr Harprasad Parichha Patnaik Passed Away

The late poet and literary scholar Dr. Harprasad Parichha Patnaik

Bhubaneswar: Harprasad Parichha Patnaik, a prominent poet and literary figure, has passed away. At the age of eight, he died at a private hospital in Bhubaneswar. He is a self-sufficient figure in the field of literature and journalism. From teaching to writing, he became involved with the “news” and eventually as the editor-in-chief of the “Daily Public”. He has twice served as editor of the Odisha Sahitya Akademi. He has also been the Registrar of Utkal Sanskrit University and the Director of the State Textbook Publishing and Publishing Institute.

Born in 1953, Dr. Harprasad Parichha Patnaik was the editor-in-chief of the “Daily Public” daily after his retirement. Dr. Parichha Patnaik, who started his professional career as a professor of English language literature, later resigned as Secretary of the Odisha Sahitya Akademi twice, Registrar of Utkal Sanskrit University and Director of the State Textbook Publishing and Publishing House in 2011. He has made significant contributions to the literary world as a distinguished poet, critic, translator, and editor.

Do You Know

His collection of poems includes Pinky Katha (14), The Lonely Monk (141), Athaya Surya (180), Ayushman Samay (195), All Darkness Tonight (19), Jeevan Jangha (2006) and How Many Days in the Forest (2008). He won the Odisha Sahitya Akademi Award for his collection of poems “Lost Love”. He has also been instrumental in translating and translating literature. Voices of Silence (Oriya translation of Greek poems), Solder in Exile (English translation of some of Ramakant Rath’s poems), Hawk and Other Stories (English translation and editing of Hrishikesh Panda’s story) and Selected Oriya Poems (Poet Sitakant Mohapatra and others) Adi’s successful achievements reflect his translation excellence. He was also a successful columnist and has authored numerous literary and critical articles in Oriya and English. He has been awarded the Odisha Sahitya Akademi Award, the Vanuji Rao Memorial Award, the Sachi Rautaray Saraswat Award and the Gangadhar Meher Kavita Award for his outstanding contributions.

Leave a Comment