What is Rowlatt Act 1919

What is Rowlatt Act 1919

  • In 1917, a committee was set up under the presidentship of Sir Sydney
  • Rowlatt to look into the militant Nationalist activities.
  • On the basis of its report the Rowlatt Act was passed in March 1919 by the Central Legislative Council.
  • Any person could be arrested on the basis of suspicion.
  • No appeal or petition could be filed against such arrests.
  • This Act was called the Black Act and it was widely opposed.
  • An all-India hartal was organized on 6 April 1919.
  • Two prominent leaders of Punjab, Dr Satva Pal and Dr. Saifuddin Kitchlew,


Mahatma Gandhi

Champaran Satyagraha (1917) First Civil Disobedience Movement.

Ahmedabad Mill Strike (1918) Ahmedabad textile laborers win strike for economic justice, 1918

Kheda Satyagraha (1918): First Non – Cooperation Movement.

What is Rowlatt Act 1919

Jallianwala Bagh Massacre (13th April, 1919)

Khilafat Movement 1919

Chauri Chaura Incident

Significance of the Non-Cooperation Movement

Swaraj Party 1923

Simon Commission (1927)

Spread of the movement

First Round Table Conference

Second Round Table Conference

Third Round Table Conference

Communal Award (16th Aug,1932)

Nehru Report (1928)

The Report favoured

Civil Disobedience Movement (1930-1934)

What Is Civil Disobedience Movement (1930-1934)

National Movement during 2nd world war

August Offer (8th Aug,1940)

Individual Satyagraha

Major Recommendations

Rejection of Cripps proposal

Quit India Movement (1942-1944)

Leave a Comment